what’s left but to wait

The rush of adrenaline brought me back to life. For once in a long, long long time I knew who I was. I saw this adventurous spirit rise in me from the ashes, once crushed by the weight of the world and burned by life’s circumstances. And now all is quiet again. I’m standing closely to the cold steel bars of my cage, afraid to touch them for fear of confirmation that I’ve lost my freedom. That maybe I’m back where I fell into despair. I can still see the imprint on the floor where I once lay, curled up, hopeless, dreamless, useless.

My freedom awaits at the extreme, at being struck by awe. At being struck over the head with something only the words of a writer can describe. But I’m bound by circumstance.

I’ll die in this cage. God, set me free.

Author: uncaged

When Picasso painted a blue Seated Woman in a Chair, he was unconsciously thinking of me.

Leave a Reply

