It’s all relative

I started back at work today, and tonight oddly feels more like summer than this summer ever did. Something is different this time around that has split my mind somewhere off center like a road that’s been stripped of half its pavement to make way for new asphalt. This is the first school year I’ll be starting in two years without being a student, myself. I was in constant survival mode until I graduated, and then I sort of floated around in space awhile, staring through the silence into the abyss without attempting to find my way back to that tin can. I’m back on Earth now but still a bit disoriented. I’m actually thinking of new, more efficient ways to do things, and I’m excited about using them, which is strange for me. I digested that mouthful of academic insanity, and the blood is now making its way back to my brain. Feels weird.

l opened the internet browser to search for super neat teacher ideas from super busy-body teachers, wait…they all are…I mean the creative teachers that make things easy (er) by coming up with brilliant ideas for organizing everything from markers and glue sticks to life. My method has always been to make stacks of things, organize my stacks and stack more things on them, and then throw colorful stuff around to detract from my chaos. My system has been effective but not efficient, and I need efficient. I need to put a new system in place before school starts in a week. Anyway, I got online to get ideas, but as you can well see, I ended up here instead. I must have had something important to say, is all I can think.

. . . . . . .

I shared the video below sometime last year, but I’m sharing it again because the idea that happily embracing reality can be something stumbled upon subconsciously rather than consciously forced is fantastic. That, and it’s a really cool video.

. . . . . . .

And finally, you would dream where you are now. You would dream the dream of living the life that you are actually living today.

-Alan Watts

Author: uncaged

When Picasso painted a blue Seated Woman in a Chair, he was unconsciously thinking of me.

Leave a Reply

