12/21/16…73°F…

(not me, but something like it)

… …

Unless you’ve jumped, you really can’t know the thrill of truly, physically, letting go. Back-diving through a blue sky and watching the earth spin passed me thousands of feet below, spinning, flying, floating, hiking the canopy every which way like a sail in the wind, I was free again. Free from every burden, negativity, and hardship. I was swept up in a reality that felt like a dream, playing games with Newton. He smiled…I felt it. I smiled right back at him.

Gliding down, I saw clear from downtown to the bay. The air up high was cool but unexpectedly warmer than it was in August, so my face did not get frost-bitten. My hair, well…

.

“Now that’s the look of a first-timer,” someone said as I walked by grinning, hair stuck every which way.

“It never gets old,” I replied.

It only gets better.

.

And again,

for your pleasure and mine…

Author: uncaged

When Picasso painted a blue Seated Woman in a Chair, he was unconsciously thinking of me.

4 thoughts on “12/21/16…73°F…”

  1. Are you already jumping solo??!

    It’s AWESOME that you’ve found a passion in sky diving. I have only done it once, and while I would love to do it again I much prefer being under the ocean than far above it.

    That song put a smile on my face 🙂 I don’t think I’ve ever heard the full song, I know it gets used on numerous commercials so my young brain just associates it with those commercials

    Like

    1. Haha. My old brain associates the song with my childhood. I’m not sure I’ve seen it in any commercials, but now that you mention it, I think it should be used as often as possible. It makes me happy. I listen to it every time I drive that last long leg out to the diving site. It stirs the excitement.

      I’m not solo yet. I could be now if I wanted to, and if I get up the nerve, my next jump I might be. I think I might need one more tandem to get used to all the procedures, though.

      I’d go all the time if I had the money. This jump was my Christmas present. 🙂

      Like

      1. what an unreal christmas present! are you able to take a small mp3 player with you? I used to wish that there were depth rated players/headphones so that I could listen to a few select trance songs to accompany my underwater excursions.

        Like

      2. They don’t allow head gear of any sort because it’s a distraction or gets in the way of the instructor. People who use that stuff are legally required to be trained to use it. But I wouldn’t need it, anyway. The sound of wind rushing and the smell of the cool clean air is intoxicating. That first leap, wow, no music, no roller coaster, nothing compares that I know of. It’s almost meditative. Out-of-body stuff.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

