Joyce and others and late-night reading

I have a strange love affair with words—the ones well placed, anyway. There’s a musical quality to something well written. I’d quote him if I weren’t in the dark on my phone with a cat on my arm. I mean I’d find the quote. He’s in a book, his words are, he is, same difference. He writes about how real writing has rhythm. The good stuff is three-dimensional, it billows and twirls through space. The rest is stuck to a page, listless or apathetic or too eager to please. He didn’t say that part, but I think he’d agree.

Author: uncaged

When Picasso painted a blue Seated Woman in a Chair, he was unconsciously thinking of me.

17 thoughts on “Joyce and others and late-night reading”

    1. Does Moggie mean “pain in the rear”? Because that’s what I call my kitties. They are lovable, furry, insanely cute creatures that drive me up the wall for their twisted pleasure.
      I love them.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I wonder how I got the idea in my head that you were from England. Strange indeed!!

        So the term moggie/domestic short hair refers to the cats that have no specific breed to them. What is the term for that in America???

        Like

      2. Domestic short hair. I have a tabby and a tuxedo cat, more specifically.
        I’ve been mistaken for English before, even in person. It’s odd, really. I’m actually of Scotch Irish descent. Don’t tell them I’m mistaken for English…(Lord help)

        Like

Leave a Reply

