that space-cadet glow

She stopped short of backing out of the parking space, turning her neck to see around me and the seat and the large SUV parked next to us.

“Is there anybody out there?” she asked.

“Is there anybody out there?” I said in a low half-sung reply. I put it on. She’d never heard it.

She drove down the long winding road in the twilight, smiling in the oddly peaceful, sorrowful, tortured, melodious air that had taken over the car. I closed my eyes, and the weight of the day was gone. I was back in time in a place she’ll never know I’ve been. A place I’d forgotten. A place ironically ignorant of Roger’s entire point…a point I hope she understands someday. But his seriousness took a backseat on our way home. His cynicism took a nap. All negativity disappeared into the background and for a little while we seemed to float down the road.

. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .

As we pulled into the driveway, she said under her breath, “another with spots.”

She started to get it.

. . . . . . . . . . . . . . .

And I thought I was only expanding her musical horizons.

. . . . .

I didn’t consider the impact.

Then again,

it’s Pink Floyd.

 

Author: uncaged

When Picasso painted a blue Seated Woman in a Chair, he was unconsciously thinking of me.

6 thoughts on “that space-cadet glow”

  1. I saw the Pink Floyd link and ‘uncaged’ and went “hell yeah” as I clicked on this thing. Had to read it twice to get it but I think I mostly got it, if the she is your daughter, but I don’t get the “another with spots” part. Still, I liked it a bunch.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks! Yes, my daughter.

      Pink Floyd is so mellow, and so completely opposite of mellow at the same time. It’s that freaky contrast between calm and insanity that makes Roger Waters the genius that he is. He makes you feel great while pummeling you with the evils of society. He’s one big walking social statement, protesting prejudice and war and apathy and whatever else he finds deplorable about the dark side of humanity.

      I saw him in concert a few years ago, and, uh, wow. Just wow.

      This music video (which is mostly a black screen since the song is mostly instrumental) shows the lyrics to “In The Flesh,” the song her comment refers to. I’m posting this one because you can read the lyrics, though the visuals in the official video give you a better idea of what he is saying.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I know Waters was the driving force behind the band, especially in the later years, but I think they were at their best when they were a true band, not the Roger Waters band. I’m more of a David Gilmour guy myself. The Floyd, like Jane’s Addiction, or early Metallica, or the Beatles (not to equate those others with the Beatles) was a sum greater than the parts of the whole, or however that’s said. It’s late and I might have had a few. Woo. Good times.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I recall only a little of the band’s history, mainly that it was sort of a mess in terms of relationships between the members. David Gilmour was the face of Pink Floyd for me for a long time, not because I knew anything at all about the band itself but because his name was always the one associated with it in conversations. I became a Waters fan as an adult. But, you know what? It doesn’t really matter. Pink Floyd, despite all the internal drama and disaster, is one of the greatest bands of all time. I’m sure even that all that mess was a huge contributor to the power of their music. Syd’s insanity, for instance. “Shine On You Crazy Diamond” was my favorite song of theirs for years.

      Like

Leave a Reply

