dark brings the light, and she finds me.

I get so caught up in the shit-half of life that I fail to see those moments that would normally make my heart beat out of my chest.

Tonight I drove down a long winding road at dark, very dark, with my brights on. I turned the brights off and everything came into focus. The dark drew closer to the front of my car the faster I went, and I scared myself.

Yup, it’s still ticking in there. I feel it.

. . . . .

I got to thinking about that drive to Alabama last summer. The sun was halfway down the back end of the day and it blinded me, warmed me. I leaned against the door and watched my fingers outline the rays on the window. I saw flashes of light gleam off the sea as we rode alongside its shore and watched as white turned to blue turned to yellow and orange and purple and night. A Beatles mix played in the background and foreground and the air I breathed in between. Few moments saturate me like the tail end of that drive did.

. . . . .

Sometimes I have to shake myself to break up the stale shale that life settles into.

Tonight, shake myself I did, and light revealed herself again in the black of night.

 

Author: uncaged

When Picasso painted a blue Seated Woman in a Chair, he was unconsciously thinking of me.

Leave a Reply

