Fascinating

I was asked to cover a class today in a room down a hallway tucked away where all the culinary and art folk can have their space. Scattered across the floor of the hallway were dozens of paintings created by students. I poked my head in the art room and asked, “Y’all doin’ Rothko?” Indeed they were. “You should take’em to the Chapel.” She already has the field trip approved. I volunteered to be a chaperone. Never been, and I have to ask myself why.

I’ve never seen a painting of his in person, but I’ve read that his work is spiritually life altering.

My take is that the man put every bit of himself into his art, so completely that there was nothing of him left. And the climax of his life, his final breath, was his Chapel, which he never saw. But I bet he actually did see it, because I bet he’s there now.

 

Author: uncaged

When Picasso painted a blue Seated Woman in a Chair, he was unconsciously thinking of me.

6 thoughts on “Fascinating”

    1. I mentioned your suggestion to the art teacher. She might have the Byzantine in the plans, but I have yet to hear back from her. I’m sure I can talk her into doing something a little extra.

      I’m excited about the trip!

      Like

      1. As you should be!

        I don’t think Rothko didn’t see the chapel finished. To be honest I don’t know, but I associate it with the penultimate period of his life before his death.

        The Chapel was not his last breath, his last breath was suicide.

        The Chapel must have brought him great peace, which is not how he went out (at least, in my interpretation).
        So I think of the Chapel not in such climactic terms. I think of it as always puttering in the back of his head, in the mornings while he painted some number in the Untitled series and listened to Concerto in A Major for Clarinet and Orchestra, K.

        But all this to say I’m excited for you, and can’t wait to read your take.

        p.s.
        The byzantine is another order of experience.
        See if its appropriate first.

        Like

      2. I’m considering visiting those places before the field trip, without the distractions of 15 year olds. I want the full experience, and maybe that experience will help me help them understand the significance of the place. Though maybe I should leave that to them.

        The history certainly will help me…has already. But I’m sure the art teacher has taken care of giving the students a historical perspective. I’m just along for the ride!

        It’s wonderful how one art flows from one artist through another through another, as though Mozart and the musicians are co-creators of the paintings.

        Like

  1. That sounds like the best course of action. Certainly you are just a contributing voice, but it is not as if interpretations need to be flawless.

    Mozart is as co-creator as Moses, as Rothko will be for you.

    Like

Leave a Reply

