Good morning

Don’t you love it when you get to sleep in on a Saturday and you wake up at 5 am? My alarm goes off at 5 on the weekdays, but it doesn’t wake me up. I sleep until 6 at the earliest. And because I woke up just now, cats have appeared to greet me. Walk all over me. Actually, I’m not sure whether they are in my face to wish me good morning or are intentionally blocking the phone’s screen…their way of sitting on a keyboard.

I woke up from a dream in which I became detached from the tandem instructor when the chute deployed. I somehow had access to an emergency chute, which I didn’t know how to use. In my half lucid state after waking, I finished the dream. I landed successfully without mishap or fear. I wasn’t afraid in the asleep part of the dream, so I can’t call it a nightmare. Plummeting to the earth at 120 miles per hour without the ability to stop didn’t bother me, so I don’t know why I woke up.

I remember an old wives tale, or rumor like gum stays in your stomach for seven years after you swallow it, that if you die in your sleep you die for real. I always wake before impending death, as has everyone else I know who I’ve discussed the subject with. But we can never know for sure whether the rumor (?) is true since dead people can’t talk. I’ve known people who claim to have spoken to recently deceased loved ones in dreams, but to my knowledge those people never asked the dead people whether they died in a dream and woke up dead. I’ve never known anyone to have actually witnessed gum pass, either, nor have I known anyone to admit to looking to find out. So the jury is still out on that one, too.

.

I can’t decide whether to try to fall back to sleep or to lie here and stare at the ceiling or to get up and make coffee.

I think I’ll lie here a little longer. It seems wrong to get up so early on a Sarurday. And if I get up now, I’ll probably go to bed early tonight and miss the second best part of the day—the first part being the day part long after morning.Twilight, ranks about 1.5, squeezed in between a sky full of sun and dark when the world is asleep.

Besides, I have one cat curled against my stomach under the covers and a second cat lying against my back. I’m sort of stuck.

Author: uncaged

When Picasso painted a blue Seated Woman in a Chair, he was unconsciously thinking of me.

1 thought on “Good morning”

Leave a Reply

