learning cont.

I was asked (required) to comment on a book excerpt. The book is a self-help book (my favorite), meant to inspire and guide the reader to develop charisma by overcoming any of five personal roadblocks, the first of which is an inflated sense of self-importance. 

Where to begin.

I would say that I argued against the author’s assertions for the sake of argument, because that’s what I do, but it so happens that the author is, in fact, wrong. My immediate comment stated a counterexample, which then gave me a strong need to explore the subject further.

.

Psychopaths

.

I researched and wrote a crude draft about various personality disorders and their causes and signs for the sake of putting a chink in the author’s absolute. I was annoyed.

In the process, I learned things and became fascinated by them.

.

Did you know?

Psychopaths are not insane, nor are they necessarily violent. There are more of them around than we think, and they are as normal as any of the rest of us weirdos. Their specific idiosyncrasies include the lack of ability to feel emotion: no love, no fear, no remorse, etc. They are narcissistic, manipulative, scheming, and, yes, charismatic. They can charm the socks off of you, and will, given the chance. And you will let them, unless you, Reader, are a psychopath. This sounds all very nonaverage and even mostly bad, but aside from the occasional serial killer, they aren’t bad people. I read of multiple studies that discovered people with psychopathic tendencies make excellent CEOs, lawyers, and, surprisingly, clergy leaders. One of the psychiatrists who researched the subject by studying brain scans used a scan of his own brain as part of the control group. He discovered that he, himself, is a psychopath. Apparently, they make good mental health professionals, too.

Though the information in the previous paragraph is factual, feel free to sense any sincerity or sarcasm.

There is so much more on the subject I could tell you, but I won’t because this is merely a blog post and not a research paper. But the point is that a) charisma can be a born trait (genetic, even) due to brain irregularities and b) an inflated ego does not prevent charisma…it probably helps.

I ask myself, as maybe you ask me, how can a person not know he has no ability to feel emotion? I have to do more research on that. But my guess is that anyone born without the ability to feel emotion can still have the ability to learn what it looks like and mimic the signs. Maybe the person doesn’t know there is feeling behind the expression. Maybe never knowing how feeling feels is normal to that person. So why would that person believe otherwise?

Fascinating.

I have to go to sleep now because it’s already midnight, and I have work in the morning.

Sleep well.

Author: uncaged

When Picasso painted a blue Seated Woman in a Chair, he was unconsciously thinking of me.

2 thoughts on “learning cont.”

Leave a Reply

