dos

I now have a non-English-speaking eighth grader preparing for an all-English math test. This assignment will require some creative teaching.

.

The little guy really knows his stuff. He finished the reading practice test within an hour and got all but two questions right. And he taught me a new word: estornudar. “Choo!” he said, all three times I asked him what it meant during the course of the morning. It’s a big word, okay? The kid is smarter than I am. (“Choo!”….this is why I don’t teach little ones….they are way too adorable.) Or maybe I asked him all three times just too watch him say “Choo!” He laughed at me each time he saw me giggle, or at the choo, but in either case I could have gobbled him up.

E-storr-nu-darrr

got it

i think

a virtual store of beests gives me the sneezes

definitely got it

He’ll probably test me on it tomorrow, so it’s especially important I know the word going in.

But the math…I can’t teach the girl English in two weeks (eight days now)….so I have to figure out a way to get her to understand what each question is asking (nearly all word problems, of course) without her having to learn how to read a new language. I think I have a plan that will work.

This is by far the best job in the whole school. God put me in the right place at the right time. Thanks, God.

 

Author: uncaged

When Picasso painted a blue Seated Woman in a Chair, he was unconsciously thinking of me.

Leave a Reply

