Wed – nes – day 

That’s how I say it in my head when I write it. That way I know that I’m writing it right.   

.

Today we talked about slang terms that she has been hearing but doesn’t understand, like “gonna” and “wanna.” I told her those were lazy ways to say what you and I know them to mean and that it’s okay to use those words in informal settings. I introduced her to “fixing to” and “ain’t” and “y’all.” Her interactions with people are, for the most part, limited to high society. So I told her that in a relaxed setting with a bunch of American southerners, “y’all” is okay, “ain’t” isn’t, and that never, under any circumstance, should she use “fixing to.” The important thing is that she knows what those words mean. 

She asked me to type those words on her computer for her, and when I did they came out on the screen all gobbledygook. I thought I was losing my mind. It turns out the keyboard was arranged Czechlosevakian style. It had all the same characters, but the characters were all mixed up. Some keys even had three characters on them. 

We eventually got to talking about The Little Prince, and we discussed word meanings. I pointed to: “he broke into a lovely peal of laughter.” She didn’t get what the author means by “broke into,” so I gave a visual description. And when I did, I got very excited, explaining how writers sometimes use imagery to make an idea come to life in a person’s head. She said she sees the same types of word usage in her own language, including other types we discussed, but seeing it in English clarified some things for her. 

This was a fun day.

And Friday, she and I are going to the bookstore.

And she’s asking for writing prompts.

Isn’t this the BEST?

Author: uncaged

When Picasso painted a blue Seated Woman in a Chair, he was unconsciously thinking of me.

4 thoughts on “Wed – nes – day ”

Leave a Reply

