My Falling asleep post .

While reading much history that you don’t find in most history books (Did you know that Jethro Tull covered a song written by King Henry VIII?), and something else about the debauchery of Montreal, not to mention (I don’t understand that phrase, not to mention, because the phrase is always followed by what it is that is not to be mentioned. But I used it anyway), all the work I’ve been doing at this late hour, I have been slowly reaching an asleep state. But I don’t want to sleep. I’m that child who fights sleep and bobs her head each time she feels it fall. 
Remind me to put the trash out in the morning.

Night.

Author: uncaged

When Picasso painted a blue Seated Woman in a Chair, he was unconsciously thinking of me.

5 thoughts on “My Falling asleep post .”

    1. There are many secret secrets of editors, but that there is not one of them. I can’t tell you any of the secrets (you probably know them already), but I can tell you that you haven’t seen parentheses used that way because in all likelihood no one dares to do it. Wanna know why? (Of course you do.) Because they are scared that they are going to make a dumb mistake, such as capitalizing the first letter of the parenthetical statement. I was providing an example of this error, which you caught with your keen eye.

      I would now make the correction, but the post is a sleepy one and correcting it would compromise its authenticity.

      Like

      1. I just reread it too, and I think I’m even more unsettled than before. Not sure I’ll be able to sleep tonight knowing that’s out there. Good point about the “not to mention” business, though.

        Like

      2. Isn’t it? Perhaps the “not to mention” comment will distract you enough to squash your feeling further unsettled. (I tripped over my tongue just now.)

        Like

Leave a Reply

